Oil pressure sensor

Have a technical question about your ride, or just looking for help? This is the spot..members unite to assist each other.
Technical help available in Alpha section
Post Reply
User avatar
Monk
CHC Trail SuperGuide
Posts: 1198
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:36 am
Location: Ontario

Oil pressure sensor

Post by Monk »

Has anyone ever used a basin wrench to remove an ops?

Mines in the valley and there is no way to put a deep socket on, as intake is right on top,

So I was reading many use crow foot 1 1/16

But also read basin? I have t change mine and figured I'd be able to get a basin cheap and easy... Anyone ever try that?
96 HMC4

Optimizer N/A

Super Swamper IROKS radials 39.5x13.5x 16.5

User avatar
Monk
CHC Trail SuperGuide
Posts: 1198
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:36 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Oil pressure sensor

Post by Monk »

Lol, I JUST removed my oil pressure switch with the basin wrench, the myth is true!!!

That orange piece sticking out made me go hmmmm
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Monk on Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
96 HMC4

Optimizer N/A

Super Swamper IROKS radials 39.5x13.5x 16.5

User avatar
Monk
CHC Trail SuperGuide
Posts: 1198
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:36 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Oil pressure sensor

Post by Monk »

The body of ops scratches a little, removing but that switch died


I bought a switch at partsource , (3 pin)

Even had crappy tire install it , as we were JUST moving to a new place in Dundas.....and lol was in a hotel for a few days before we could move,.....

Well ever since the new ops was installed, HIGHEST she read was 15psi cold,....and lol rode around at 3-5 psi... Seemed shitty,....I was worried motor was/might been an issue...possibly

Well within a few weeks my oil gauge always read zero again....On or off.....sooooo was hoping not my motor, I thought try to change my ops again, before I try the gauge itself...

Bought that basin wrench and was able to remove ops easily (which surprised me) I took it back to partsource and got a replacement.....and went to princess auto and bought a 26mm wrench, for the ops,

(Wasn't 1-1/16 as some sites say) tighten her down and bam , fired up the mighty beast, and like Frankenstein, I yelled HE'S ALIVEEEEE ,

Gauge read 40 psi cold,

I can't believe new sensors are crap off the get go....
Last edited by Monk on Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
96 HMC4

Optimizer N/A

Super Swamper IROKS radials 39.5x13.5x 16.5

User avatar
Monk
CHC Trail SuperGuide
Posts: 1198
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:36 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Oil pressure sensor

Post by Monk »

Well update....

3 switches later (BWD brand) from part source

1) pressure showed MAX cold at 15psi, hot was at 3-5, lol

Then stay to the left, didn't move after 2 weeks

#2) blew a seal so it decide to spray ,week after installed (I showed pic aboved)

#3) same as when I changed the FIRST AMgeneral time, the needle was maxed out, so lasted couple weeks..


I bit the bullet, and lol got an AC delco

No more garbage!!

Cold she reads 50-55 psi

Hot she reads 35-40 psi

Now those readings I like...

And lol wasn't made in china...


I can say I'm a ops veteran now,

Don't have to remove anything to replace, lol
Last edited by Monk on Wed Aug 24, 2016 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
96 HMC4

Optimizer N/A

Super Swamper IROKS radials 39.5x13.5x 16.5

User avatar
Monk
CHC Trail SuperGuide
Posts: 1198
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:36 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Oil pressure sensor

Post by Monk »

Lol another update

In case anyone want to know

The 3 pin ops


1st pin ....Orange is full out 12v

Middle pin....... Goes to the oil gauge

Whiteish grey .....goes to lift pump

-–------------

I found out that some dummy hooked up my Lift pump directly to an ignition power instead like 6+ years ago.

I'm guessing, as there was a short in wires somewhere .they jumped it and left it like that

So, I'll fix soon

------

Now my ops has been failing on average of every 2 weeks, well baffled , as the lift pump wasn't running off it ,as many said check the pump draw ,I took my pig tail off and low and behold,

The one power wire was corroded to a needle size, instead of a box so nice fit, I'm thinking wasn't enough voltage to power a thing,

And it caused many many failure ,

I went to the wreckers (was bored ), and found a nice condition pig tail, and lol grabbed a couple ops switches from different motors, (one looked super new)

So now the new pig tails is in and only the middle is plugged n for now, I'll drive for a month and if now failing ( I'd assume to hot and need relocating) I'll then add the power wire then see another month, then pin #3 to the LP with a new wire AND A nice relay to help with power draw, (really no need for our week ops drawing so much amps from the little pin) a relay will fix the. Issue
Last edited by Monk on Mon Sep 12, 2016 1:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
96 HMC4

Optimizer N/A

Super Swamper IROKS radials 39.5x13.5x 16.5

User avatar
DerekCanuck
CHC Pilot
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Sylvan Lake, Alberta

Re: Oil pressure sensor

Post by DerekCanuck »

Any one have the AC Delco part number for the 1 pin OPS?
 
I have a part number for the vehicle
 
AM General 5745120
or
Standard Motor Products PS230 
 
I want to get the best part I can, with as little confusion post install as possible..

Post Reply